Association of Educators in Imaging and Radiologic Sciences, Inc
 
Already an AEIRS Member? Login now
 

Board Contacts

Below is the contact information for the Board of Directors for AEIRS

Chair of the Board

Tiffani Walker, MSRS, RT(R)
Work 940-668-3393
E-mail twalker@aeirs.org

Tiffani Walker is employed by North Central Texas College in Gainesville, TX as Clinical Coordinator for the Radiologic Science program. Prior to accepting this position, Ms. Walker was employed in several modalities including General Radiography, Computed Tomography, Mammography, and Bone Densitometry. Her experience in imaging has given her the drive to become an educator and she has been teaching at NCTC for over 10 years.

Tiffani completed her education for Associates, Bachelors, and Masters in Radiologic Technology from Midwestern State University in Wichita Falls, Texas – her home town. She is currently seeking a Doctorate at Texas Women’s University in Health Studies.

Ms. Walker has been a member of AEIRS, served as a volunteer for many years, and committee chair for the recruitment committee. She has been a long time member of American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT), as well as, served on several committees and as HOD. She is a member and Past President of the Texas Society of Radiologic Technologist (TSRT).

Currently Tiffani is working with RAD-AID as the director of the technologist program and was a previous RAD-AID ASRT Foundation Outreach Fellow.

Tiffani has published articles, a reviewer for several textbooks, and has presented numerous presentations at the state, national, and international levels. She currently lives in Savannah, TX and enjoys spending time outdoors when time permits with her family and blood hound.

President

Nina Kowalczyk, PhD, RT(R)(CV)(CT)(QM), FASRT
Work 614-293-0290
E-Mail nkowalczyk@aeirs.org

Nina Kowalczyk currently serves as an Organizational Effectiveness Consultant for The Ohio State University Wexner Medical Center in Columbus, Ohio. Nina received her certificate in radiography from Mount Carmel Medical Center in Columbus, OH. She earned a B.S. and an M.S. in Allied Health from The Ohio State University, as well as an M.A. and Ph.D. in Adult Education and Workforce Development from The Ohio State University. With over 30 years of experience in the radiologic sciences, she began her career as a diagnostic radiographer and during her years as a clinician advanced to mammography, CT, and MRI. Nina transitioned from clinical practice to radiologic science education serving as a Clinical Coordinator/Instructor, Program Director, and Assistant Professor in Radiologic Sciences. She has experience teaching at the certificate, baccalaureate, and graduate levels. Nina also practiced in management for over 10 years serving as the associate director of radiology for two large health systems in Columbus, Ohio.

Dr. Kowalczyk is an active member of several professional organizations. She is a life member of The Ohio Society of Radiologic Technologists, a Fellow and life member of The American Society of Radiologic Technologists, past Chairman of the Radiologic Technology Editorial Review Board, a member of the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists’ RA essay review board, and currently serves as the executive director of AEIRS Spectrum.

Nina has conducted original research and published numerous peer-reviewed articles in the radiologic sciences and medicine. She also has authored several textbooks/chapters and continuing education programs in the radiologic sciences. In addition, Dr. Kowalczyk has presented for the past 25 years at the state, national, and international levels.

President-Elect

Debra Poelhuis, M.S., R.T. (R) (M)
Work 610-929-4803
E-Mail dpoelhuis@aeirs.org

Debra (Debbie) Poelhuis, MS, RT(R)(M) retired as the founding Program Director for the AS Radiography program at Montgomery County Community College (12 years). She served as the mentor and Clinical Coordinator in 2015-2016 following her retirement. She was also the founding Program Director at Owensboro Community College in Owensboro, KY (13 years) prior to relocating to PA. With over 45 years of experience in the radiologic sciences, she began her career as a diagnostic radiographer and during her years as a clinician worked in interventional radiology, mammography, forensics and CT. She began her education career as clinical instructor at Deaconess Hospital for the University of Southern Indiana in Evansville, IN.

She is currently serving in the role of Associate Manager- RAD AID India and has gone to Chandigarh, India with RAD-AID four times in the past 16 months with the Asha Jyoti project, a women’s health mobile van doing screenings in mammography, dexa scanning and colposcopy. She is returning in November 2018 with the hopes of starting another breast screening project in Nashik, India

Debbie received her certificate in radiography from Deaconess Hospital, graduated from the University of Southern Indiana with a BS in Health Sciences and from Indiana State University with an MS in Agency Counseling with a concentration in Education. She is a past-president of the Indiana Society of Radiologic Technologists (ISRT) and has also served as a delegate for the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT). In addition to this appointment as Director at Large for AEIRS, Ms. Poelhuis served on the Board of Directors for the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology, serving as Chair during her sixth year. She currently serves as a site visitor chair for the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology. She is a life member of the Indiana Society of Radiologic Technologists.

Debbie has published articles in RT Image for Imaging and Radiation Therapy Professionals, AHRA and the ASRT Journal. In addition to being a co-author on three editions of Davis’s Comprehensive Handbook for Laboratory and Diagnostic Tests with Nursing Implications, she has co-authored the Carlton & Adler Workbook for Principles of Radiographic Imaging with Ms. Nina Kowalczyk. Ms. Poelhuis has presented numerous presentations over the years at the local, state, regional, national and international levels.

Secretary/Treasurer

Julie Gill, PhD, R.T.(R)(QM)
Work 513-936-7152
E-Mail jgill@aeirs.org

Julie Gill, PhD, RT(R)(QM) is a professor and department chair in the University of Cincinnati Blue Ash College Allied Health Department where she also serves as the Program Director of the Radiation Science Technology – Distance Learning bachelor’s degree completion program. Dr. Gill graduated from The Ohio State University with a Bachelor of Science degree in Allied Health Professions with a major in Radiologic Technology. She also earned master’s and doctoral degrees in Higher Education Administration from Ohio University. Clinically, she has been employed as a radiographer, mammographer, and manager. She began practicing in radiologic science education in 1989 and has been employed as a Clinical Coordinator, Program Director, Department Chair, and Dean.

Dr. Gill has been active professionally on local, state, and national levels. She was recently awarded life membership from the Ohio Society of Radiologic Technologists (OSRT) and she served five years on the Board of Directors for the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) and is serving her third term on the OSRT Board. She has served on the Editorial Review Board for the ASRT and AEIRS and has served as a delegate for the ASRT. She has co-chaired several OSRT Annual Meetings and currently serves as co-chair of the OSRT’s Leadership Academy. Dr. Gill has delivered multiple local, state, regional, national, and international presentations.

Julie lives outside of Columbus, Ohio with her husband, sister, and 3 dogs. She loves to cook and serve at the Ronald McDonald House of Central Ohio and spend time with her grandson Aiden, doing whatever he wants to do.

Director-at-Large

Charles I. Drago, D.H.Ed., R.T. (R) (CT)
Work 718-518-4114
E-Mail cdrago@aeirs.org

Charles Drago is employed at Hostos Community College-City University of New York where he is a tenured professor and serves in a dual role as Program Director of Radiologic Technology and Chair of the combined Allied Health Programs. He has been educating students for over 25 years and he has taught courses in pathology, radiation physics, anatomy and radiation biology. Charles is committed to providing the highest level of education to students and providing them with the opportunities they need to succeed.

Charles graduated with a certificate from Mercy Medical Center School of Radiologic Technology in Rockville Centre , New York and received his B. S in Radiological Sciences from Long Island University, his MS.Ed is in health education from Lehman College and his D.H.Ed. is in Health Education from A.T Still University. Charles is also a graduate from the leadership academy at Pennsylvania State University. His research interest are critical thinking and ethical issues related to health professions.

Charles is member of several organizations including the American Society of Radiologic Technologist, New York State Society of Radiological Sciences and past and current President of the Association of Educators in Radiologic Technology in the State of New York.

Charles is a 4th degree member of the Knights of Columbus in Massapequa, New York. He was born and raised on Long Island and enjoys spending his spare time with his family and friends.

Director-at-Large

Mari P. King, EdD, RT(R)FAEIRS
Work 570-674-6152
E-Mail mking@aeirs.org

Accident-prone as a child, Dr. King made many visits to the x-ray department. Inspired by her experiences, she earned an A.A.S. degree in Radiologic Technology from College Misericordia in 1975. Mari never planned to be an educator. However, less than six months after earning her degree, she was teaching in the program. It was during that first semester she knew she had found her calling.

In 1979, Mari earned a bachelor’s degree from College Misericordia. She completed a master’s degree in Public Administration with a concentration in Health Services Administration at Marywood University in 1989, and an Ed.D. in Educational Technology at Lehigh University in 2002. Most recently, she obtained a Professional Certificate in Online Education through the University of Wisconsin.

Her forty plus years of higher education experience at Misericordia include three semesters as acting chair of the Medical Imaging Department, two years as Faculty Senate chair, three years as Health Sciences Division chair, one year as Interim Vice President of Academic Affairs, and eight years as Vice President of Academic Affairs during which she played an integral role in transitioning Misericordia from college to university status.

Dr. King’s long-term commitment to AEIRS is evidenced by 28 years of continuous membership and active participation. During her tenure in leadership positions on the Board of Directors from 2004 through 2010, AEIRS hosted its first solo meeting in many years, secured indexation for Radiologic Science & Education, introduced the International Scholarship Travel Fund and Invest in the Future Grant, launched AEIRS Facebook page, redesigned its logo, developed a more collaborative and interactive strategic planning process, and increased networking and professional development opportunities for members. Mari’s service to AEIRS didn’t stop upon completion of her first term on the Board. She was elevated to Fellow status in 2015 and earned Life Membership in 2018. She currently serves as chair of the Committee on Fellows and Director-at-Large.

Mari has presented at local, regional, national and international levels. She has published on cross-cultural issues in health care, provided consultation to colleges contemplating a move to university status, and served as a peer evaluator for the Middle States Commission on Higher Education and the Pennsylvania Department of Education. She is also actively involved in her church and community.

Since returning to the full-time faculty in 2014, Mari begins each day knowing she has a priceless opportunity to interact with the future of imaging and radiologic sciences, identify potential educators and grow new leaders. Dr. King believes educating future healthcare professionals is one of life’s great rewards, which is complemented by her passion for lifelong learning and her commitment to paying it forward.

Director-at-Large

Tammy Webster, PhD, MPA, RT(R)(M), FAEIRS
Work 402-559-3846
E-Mail twebster@aeirs.org

Tammy Webster is an Associate Professor in the College of Allied Health Professions at the University of Nebraska Medical Center in Omaha, NE. Additionally, she currently serves as the Program Director of Radiography, Cardiovascular Interventional Technology, and Computed Tomography.

Tammy received her Bachelor of Science in Radiation Science Technology degree from the University of Nebraska Medical Center in 2000 followed by receiving her Master of Public Administration degree from the University of Nebraska at Omaha in 2002. She then received her PhD in Medical Sciences Interdepartmental Area with a focus on critical thinking from the University of Nebraska Medical Center in 2018.

Tammy has been a long-standing member of AEIRS to include volunteer service on various committees as both a member and chair. She serves on the Editorial Review Board for both AEIRS and ASRT. Tammy is the Executive Editor for the AEIRS Spectrum newsletter and was inducted as an AEIRS Fellow in July of 2019. Tammy has published articles, received professional grant funding as a co-investigator, and presented at the state, national, and international levels.



Committees, Appointees, Liaisons

STANDING COMMITTEES

Bylaws Committee
Paulette Peterson, Chair
585-292-2374
ppeterson@monroecc.edu

Paula Pate-Schloder, Vice Chair
570-674-6303
ppate@epix.net

Cathy Cooper
251-445-9346
ccooper@southalabama.edu

Joy Menser
270-686-4633
joy.menser@kctcs.edu

Cherie Pohlmann
251-445-9354
cpohlmann@southalabama.edu

Lori Zelna
570-674-6438
lzelna@misericordia.edu

Debra Poelhuis – Board Advocate
812-483-3891
dpoelhuis@aeirs.org

Nominating Committee
Jennifer Chiu, Chair
718-990-8419
chiuj@stjohns.edu

Julie Kloft
407-582-1868
jkloft@valenciacollege.edu

Leslie Spurlock
479-684-5119
lspurlock@uams.edu

Stephanie Vas
402-559-2181
Stephanie.vas@unmc.edu


Scholarship Committee
Debby Leighty, Chair
813-253-7416
dleighty@hccfl.edu

Lynda Donathan, Vice-Chair
606-783-5489
l.donathan@moreheadstate.edu

Anthony Dotson
606-783-5175
a.dotson@moreheadstate.edu

David Gilmore
781-768-7313
David.gilmore@regiscollege.edu

Deb LeMay
317-274-5075
dlemay2@iupui.edu

Greg Mehrer
402-559-6945
gregory.mehrer@unmc.edu

Kelli Haynes - Board Advocate
318-677-3071
khaynes@aeirs.org
Educational Resources Committee
Tiffany Roman, Chair
513-936-1591
tiffany.roman@uc.edu

Marilyn Lewis Thompson, Vice chair
816-932-6734
mlewisthompson@saint-lukes.org

Shirley Douglass
202-877-6434
Shirley.M.Douglass@Medstar.net

Kathy Drotar
941-907-3900
kdrotar@keiseruniversity.edu

Elena Felipe
305-596-2226
efelipe@keiseruniversity.edu

Heather Moore
513-936-7121
Heather.moore@uc.edu

Charlie Drago– Board Advocate
718-518-4114
Cdrago@aeirs.org


Fellow Committee
Mari King, Chair
570-674-6403
mking@misericordia.edu

Bruce Long
317-274-5254
blong@iupui.edu

James Murrell
818-754-6008
jamesmurrell@gmail.com


Recruitment Committee
Zaidalynet Morales, Chair
718-990-8453
moralesz@stjohns.edu

Ashley Balliet, Vice-Chair
319-369-7077
ashley.balliet@unitypoint.org

Raymond Fradella
585-292-2381
raymondafradella@gmail.com

Teresa Resch
706-295-6909
tresch@gntc.edu

Lisa Rhoden
501-686-6512
LARhoden@uams.edu

Heather Schmuck
812-465-7092
hmschmuck@usi.edu

Dale Smith
251-445-9351
dasmith@southalabama.edu

Joan Becker – Board Advocate
972-860-5049
jbecker@aeirs.org
Networking Committee
Richard Angulo, Chair
619-865-4327
rangulo@pmi.edu

Melanie Billmeier, Vice Chair
940-668-3392
mbillmeier@nctc.edu

Monica Breedlove
541-885-1970
monica.breedlove@oit.edu

Kevin Clark
940-397-4062
Kevin.clark@mwsu.edu

Joy A. Cook
812-465-1165
jacook3@usi.edu

Megan Trad
512-245-7047
mt40@txstate.edu

Erica Wight
208-426-5045
ericawight@boisestate.edu

Susan Wheat
706-295-6909
swheat@gntc.edu

Julie Gill – Board Advocate
513-936-7162
jgill@aeirs.org


Research/Grant Committee
Mari King, Chair
570-674-6403
mking@misericordia.edu

Tracy Herrmann, Vice-Chair
513-745-5689
tracy.herrmann@uc.edu

Shannon Alexander
859-572-7921
Alexanders3@nku.edu

Lynne Eggert
706-721-4179
meggert@augusta.edu

Kendra Hall
217-619-5986
kendra.hall63@gmail.com

Jim Temme
402-559-6954
jtemme@unmc.edu

Debra Poelhuis – Board Advocate
812-483-3891
dpoelhuis@aeirs.org>


Social Networking Administrators
Board of Directors

PUBLICATIONS TEAM

Editorial Review Board

Terri Fauber, Chair
804-512-6192
tfauber@vcu.edu

Laurie Adams, Vice-Chair
912-344-3382
Laurie.adams@armstrong.edu

Editorial Review Board Members

Kevin Clark
940-397-4062
Kevin.clark@mwsu.edu

Colleen Dempsey
215-252-0303
colleen.dempsey@jefferson.edu

Melanie Dempsey
804-828-9104
mcdempsey@vcu.edu

Kathleen M. Drotar
941-716-4475
kdrotar@keiseruniversity.edu>

Kenya Haugen
210-862-0575
Kenya_haugen@med.unc.edu

Kathleen Kienstra
314-977-8630
kkienst1@slu.edu

Jeffrey B. Killion
940-397-4679
jeff.killion@mwsu.edu

Michael Madden
785-628-5677
mmadden@fhsu.edu

Kim Metcalf
207-625-4265
bcdkmetcalf@yahoo.com

Christy Raby
865-705-6044
rabycl@mail.etsu.edu

Debbie Starkey
+617 31382596
d.starkey@aut.edu.au

Tammy Webster
402-559-3846
Tammy.webster@unmc.edu

Journal Executive Editor
Laura Aaron
318-677-3020
carwilel@nsula.edu

Nina Kowalczyk– Board Advocate
614-209-6157
nkowalczyk@aeirs.org>

Newsletter Executive Editor
Tammy Webster
402-559-3846
Tammy.webster@unmc.edu

Nina Kowalczyk – Board Advocate
614-293-0290
nkowalczyk@aeirs.org

Managing Editor of Journal and Newsletter
Susan Carr
349 Lexington Road
Concord, MA 01724
978-287-0195
susancarr349@gmail.com

APPOINTMENTS AND LIAISONS

AAMD Liaison
Mahsa Dehghanpour
713-792-3455
mdehghan@mdanderson.org

AAPM Liaison
TBD

AHRA Liaison
Frances Gilman
215-503-1865
frances.gilman@jefferson.edu

ASRT Liaison
Tiffani Walker
940-923-6427
twalker@aeris.org>

ASTRO Liaison
Marissa Mangrum
214-762-3376
Marissa-mangrum@ouhsc.edu

Image Gently Liaison
Tracy Herrmann
513-745-5689
therrmann@aeirs.org

ISRRT Liaison
Michael D. Ward
314-362-9155
mward@bjc.org

NMTCB Liaison
Angela Macci Bires
412-397-5410
bires@rmu.edu
SDMS Liaison
Lynn Schluns
972-860-5053
lschluns@dcccd.edu

SNMMI-TS Liaison
Appointed by SNNMMI-TS Education Chairman

ANNUAL MEETING/SEMINARS

Annual Meeting 2019
Julie Gill
513-936-7162
jgill@aeirs.org

Debra Poelhuis -- Board Advocate
812-483-3891
dpoelhuis@aeirs.org

Honors Lecture 2019
Charlie Drago
718-518-4114
cdrago@aeirs.org

Julie Gill – Board Advocate
513-936-7162
jgill@aeirs.org
Atlanta Workshop
TBD
Annual Meeting 2020
Charlie Drago
718-518-4114
cdrago@aeirs.org



AEIRS Staff