AEIRS Logo

Board Contacts

Below is the contact information for the Board of Directors for AEIRS

Chair of the Board

Kenya Haugen, DM, MS, RT(R)
Work 713-563-0573
E-mail khaugen@aeirs.org

Kenya R. Haugen currently serves as a Senior Health Professions Educator and Clinical Coordinator at the University of Texas/MD Anderson Cancer Center in Houston, TX. She has been a director of several imaging sciences programs and taught several courses within Imaging Sciences. She has been in the field of imaging education since 2006. Kenya received her certificate as a Radiologic Technologist from the United States Army. She graduated from Loyola Marymount University with a BS in Natural Sciences and earned a MS in Biology with an emphasis in Exercise Science from the University of Colorado at Colorado Springs, and earned her Doctor of Management in Organizational Leadership from the University of Phoenix.

Kenya is originally from southern California and feels right at home in Texas. She enjoys spending time with her family and traveling. She has served as the Vice President of the Reserve Officer Association and an active member of the local and national organizations for Radiologic Technologists. Kenya enjoys reviewing textbooks and recently became a contributing author for a textbook as well. She also supports programmatic accreditation as a JRCERT site visitor.

President

Tracy Herrmann, M.Ed., R.T. (R)
Work 513-745-5689
E-Mail therrmann@aeirs.org

Tracy Herrmann has been a radiographer and educator at the University of Cincinnati for many years. She is presently a Professor of Radiologic Technology and teaches courses related to equipment, image production, and radiation safety. Her radiologic technology education was completed at The Ohio State University and her Master's degree in Health Education was earned at the University of Cincinnati. Tracy is pursuing a doctoral degree in Educational Studies with a concentration in Educational Policy and Higher Education and research interests related to cultural competence.

Tracy has been a member of AEIRS since 1988. She is a past-president of the Ohio Society of Radiologic Technologists (OSRT) and has also served as a delegate for the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT). She serves as a representative to the Image Gently Campaign initiatives in digital radiography and fluoroscopy and has a special interest in digital radiography and radiation protection. Tracy is an accreditation site visitor and team chair for the JRCERT. She has presented nationally on active learning strategies including program based learning and concept mapping.

President-Elect

John William Eichinger, MSRS, R.T. (R) (CT)
Work 843-470-8397
E-Mail jeichinger@aeirs.org

John Eichinger currently serves as founding program director at Technical College of The Lowcountry in Beaufort, South Carolina. Prior to accepting this position, Mr. Eichinger served as clinical faculty at Santa Fe Community College in Gainesville, Florida and as program director in Lancaster, Ohio. Mr. Eichinger also has extensive experience in diagnostic radiology and served eight years as Radiology Department Manager.

Born in southeastern Ohio, John received his Radiologic Technology education at Camden-Clark Memorial Hospital, Parkersburg, West Virginia, a bachelor’s degree from Salem College, and a master’s from Midwestern State University in Wichita Falls, Texas.

Mr. Eichinger is a member of the A.S.R.T. as well as the South Carolina Society of Radiologic Technologists where he is a member of the Council on Education. He has been a past member of the West Virginia, Ohio, and Florida societies. A supporter of programmatic accreditation, John is a site visitor for the J.R.C.E.R.T.

John lives in Bluffton, South Carolina with his greatest admirers, his two cats, and is a die-hard college sports fan with his two favorite teams being the Florida Gators and the West Virginia Mountaineers.

Secretary/Treasurer

Jennifer Chiu, EdD, MBA, RT(R)
Work 718-990-8419
E-mail jchiu@aeirs.org

Jennifer Chiu is an Associate Professor and Director of the Radiologic Sciences Program at St. John’s University. Her previous appointments included Clinical Coordinator at St. John’s University and Clinical Coordinator/Instructor at Saint Vincent Catholic Medical Centers. She has been educating radiography students since 2006.

Jennifer graduated with her BS in Management and Finance from Binghamton University, received her certificate in radiography from Saint Vincent Catholic Medical Centers and earned her MBA in Health Care Administration. In 2013, she received her Ed.D. in Educational Administration at Dowling College. Her research interests include clinical competence, simulated learning, and radiation safety. She has published peer-reviewed articles in professional journals and has presented at local, national, and international levels.

Jennifer is born and raised in New York City and could not imagine living elsewhere as she loves spending time with family. Other hobbies include traveling and reading. She is a member of local and national organizations for Radiologic Technologists, currently volunteers on the Scholarship Review Committee for the American Society of Radiologic Technologists, and is excited about being more involved.

Director-at-Large

Joan Alaine Becker, MBA, BSRT, R.T. (R) (MR)
Work 972-860-5049
E-mail jabecker@aeirs.org

Joan Alaine Becker currently serves as the Director/Coordinator of the primary pathway Magnetic Resonance Imaging Program at El Centro College in Dallas, Texas. Prior to this academic position, Joan was an Assistant Professor in Radiology at The George Washington University in Washington, D.C. and taught in the Diagnostic Radiology Program at Owens Technical College, Perrysburg, Ohio.

Joan received her Bachelors of Science in Radiologic Sciences and Administration from The Ohio State University (OSU) in 1976. While attending OSU, Joan was President of the Allied Medical Professions Student Council and received the award as the outstanding student upon graduation. Joan completed her Master of Business Administration from The George Washington University in 1981 with a concentration in Organizational Development and Health Care Administration. Joan completed the Magnetic Resonance Imaging Continuing Education program at El Centro in 2009.

Joan has been a member of the American Society of Radiologic Technologists (ASRT) and the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists since 1976 and currently serves on the ASRT - RT advocacy committee. She has been a member of the American Society of Allied Health Professionals and a member of the Texas Society of Radiologic Technologist. Joan is an Emeritus Board Member of the Dallas Children’s Theater and supports her love of the performing arts, duplicate bridge, and travel.

Director-at-Large

Kelli Welch Haynes, MSRS, R.T. (R)
Work 318-677-3071
E-Mail khaynes@aeirs.org

Kelli Welch Haynes, MSRS, RT(R), is a tenured, associate professor and Program Director for the Bachelor of Science program at Northwestern State University in Shreveport, LA. She is also a graduate faculty member. Mrs. Haynes graduated from Northwestern State with her Bachelor of Science degree and she graduated from Midwestern State University, in Wichita Falls, TX with her Master of Science in Radiologic Sciences with a concentration in Administration. She is currently pursuing a doctorate of Education at the University of Louisiana at Monroe. Before becoming an educator in August of 2000, Mrs. Haynes was the Director of Radiology at Promise Hospital in Shreveport, LA, for five years, where she also performed diagnostic radiography exams and computed tomography.

She has been an active member of several professional organizations, having served on the boards, committees and task forces. In addition to serving as the Director at Large for AEIRS, Mrs. Haynes is currently a member of the Editorial Review Board for the American Society of Radiologic Technologists, chapter director of the Louisiana Alpha chapter of Lambda Nu, the national honor society for the radiologic and imaging sciences, and currently serves as a site visitor for the Joint Review Committee on Education in Radiologic Technology. She is also a member of the Association of Collegiate Educators in Radiologic Sciences, the Association of Medical Imaging Management (AHRA) and the Louisiana Society of Radiologic Technologists.

Mrs. Haynes has published articles in Radiologic Technology; The Journal of the American Society of Radiologic Technologists; Radiologic Science and Education, and ADVANCE for Imaging and Radiation Therapy Professionals. She has created six online continuing education modules for the American Society of Radiologic Technologists. Mrs. Haynes has served as a reviewer for many radiologic sciences textbooks. In addition to being an author on the seventh edition of Radiation Protection in Medical Radiography, she has developed the Mosby's Radiographic Online (MRO) for Radiation Protection in Medical Radiography, 7th edition. Mrs. Haynes has presented over 60 presentations at the state, regional, national and international levels.

Director-at-Large

Kim Metcalf, Ed. D., R.T. (R) (T) (MR)
Work 207-625-4265
E-Mail kmetcalf@aeirs.org

Kim Metcalf is an Adjunct Assistant Professor of Clinical Research and Leadership at The George Washington University in Washington, DC. She is also the Radiology Manager of the VA Maine Healthcare System in Augusta, ME. She previously served for 8 years as an Assistant Professor in the Post-Bachelor Degree Certificate Program in Medical Imaging.

Dr. Metcalf completed both her Radiography and Radiation Therapy degrees at Southern Maine Community College and her Bachelor of Science degree at the University of Southern Maine. She also holds a Master’s Degree in Business Administration from the University of New Hampshire and a Doctoral Degree in Higher Education Leadership from Nova Southeastern University.

Dr. Metcalf has over 32 years of experience in the radiologic sciences having held clinical, management, administrative and education positions in the profession. She has served as a member of the Editorial Review Board for both the ASRT Radiologic Technology journal and the AEIRS Radiologic Science & Education journal. She has several publications and presentations to her credit and she has been awarded the Jean I. Widger distinguished author award along with her co-authors for the best peer-reviewed article published in the ASRT Radiologic Technology journal in 2010.

Kim lives in West Baldwin, ME with her husband David. They have two daughters, one is a graduate of at Maine Maritime Academy and the other is a junior at the University of Maine. Kim’s hobbies include birding, landscaping and gardening. She recently served as the President of the Maine Maritime Academy Parent's Association.

Dr. Metcalf has been a member of the ASRT since 1987 and a member of AEIRS since 2006. She is committed to the AEIRS organization and seeks to support the profession of radiologic science through the mentoring and encouraging of members to share their expertise through the conducting of research and disseminating their work through publication and presentation.



Committees, Appointees, Liaisons

STANDING COMMITTEES



Bylaws Committee

 

Pete Barger, Chair

573-334-6825

pbarger@sehosp.org

 

April Bowman

859-336-5082

abowman@sccky.edu

 

Julie Gill

513-936-7162

julia.gill@uc.edu

 

Jacqueline Kralik

206-322-6100 x 112

jkralik@pmi.edu

 

Lori Zelna

570-674-6438

lzelna@misericordia.edu

 

John Eichinger – Board Advocate

352-213-1018

jeichinger@aeirs.org

 

Networking Committee

 

Paula Pate-Schloder, Co-Chair

570-674-6303

ppate@epix.net

 

Richard Angulo, Co-Chair

619-425-3200

rangulo@pmi.edu

 

Melanie Billmeier

940-668-3392

mbillmeier@nctc.edu

 

Kevin Clark

940-397-4062

kevin.clark@mwsu.edu

 

Lizzy Hemme

513-936-1757

hemmeea@ucmail.uc.edu

 

Cindy Saylors

501-686-6511

CPSaylors@uams.edu

 

Megan Trad

512-245-7047

mt40@txstate.edu

 

Jennifer Turner

706-583-2693

jturner@athenstech.edu

 

Jennifer Chiu – Board Advocate

718-990-8419

jchiu@aeirs.org

 

Social Networking Administrators

 

Board of Directors

 



Educational Resources Committee

 

Daniel DeMaio, Chair

860-768-5752

ddemaio@hartford.edu

 

Kathy Drotar

941-907-3900
kdrotar@keiseruniversity.edu

 

Heather Moore

513-936-7121

heather.moore@uc.edu

 

Mary Jo Perry

718-990-8411

perrym1@stjohns.edu

 

Tiffany Roman

513-936-1591

tiffany.roman@uc.edu

 

Chris Steelman

843-290-5404

csteelman@x-rayintl.org

 

Marilyn Lewis Thompson

816-932-6734

mlewisthompson@saint-lukes.org

 

Kenya Haugen – Board Advocate

713-563-0573

khaugen@aeirs.org

 

Nominating Committee

 

Deborah Leighty- Chair

813-253-7416

dleighty@hccfl.edu

 

Angela Eaton

718-990-8422

eatona@stjohns.edu 

 

Julie Kloft

407-582-1868

jkloft@valenciacollege.edu

 

Joy Menser

270-686-4683

joy.menser@kctcs.edu

 

Cy Whaley

267-341-3566

cwhaley@holyfamily.edu

 

Fellow Committee

 

Carole South-Winter, Chair

605-647-2034

csouthwinter@yahoo.com

 

Phil Ballinger

614-486-6567

ballinger.1@osu.edu

 

Barb Smith

971-722-8033

bsmith@pcc.edu

 

Joan Becker – Board Advocate

972-860-5049

jabecker@aeirs.org

 



Recruitment Committee

 

Tiffany Walker, Chair

940-668-3393

twalker@nctc.edu

 

Patricia Brewer

251-445-9355

pbrewer@southalabama.edu

 

Sherry Floerchinger

435-879-4840

floerchinger@dixie.edu

 

Tammy Jones

402-559-3846

tljones@unmc.edu

 

Zaidalynet Morales

718-990-8453

moralesz@stjohns.edu

 

Shellie Son

208-676-7133

shellie_son@nic.edu

 

Sharla Walker

979-532-6379

sharlaw@wcjc.edu

 

Melissa Whitley

318-427-4423

mwhitley@lsua.edu

 

Kelli Haynes – Board Advocate

318-677-3071

khaynes@aeirs.org

 

 

Research/Scholarship Committee

 

Mari King, Co-Chair

570-674-6403

mking@misericordia.edu

 

Charlie Drago, Co-Chair

718-518-4114

cdrago3@optimum.net

 

Shannon Alexander

859-572-7921

alexanders3@nku.edu

 

Lynda Donathan

606-783-5489

l.donathan@moreheadstate.edu

 

Lynne Eggert

706-721-4179

meggert@gru.edu

 

Jeff Fannin

606-783-2906

j.fannin@moreheadstate.edu

 

David Gilmore

617-777-2783

david.gilmore@regiscollege.edu

 

Jim Temme

402-559-6954

jtemme@unmc.edu

 

Kim Metcalf – Board Advocate

207-625-4265

kmetcalf@aeirs.org

 

 

 

PUBLICATIONS TEAM



Editorial Review Board Chair

 

Julie Gill

513-936-7162

julia.gill@uc.edu

 

Journal Executive Editor

 

Laura Aaron

318-677-3072

carwilel@nsula.edu

 

John Eichinger – Board Advocate

352-213-1018

jeichinger@aeirs.org

 

Newsletter Executive Editor

 

Nina Kowalczyk

614-293-0290                 

Nina.kowalczyk@osumc.edu

 

John Eichinger – Board Advocate

352-213-1018

jeichinger@aeirs.org

 



Editorial Review Board Members

 

Jo Edwards

615-898-2905

mjedward@mtsu.edu

 

Terri L. Fauber

804-828-9104

tfauber@vcu.edu

 

Kathleen Kienstra

314-977-8630

kkienst1@slu.edu

 

Jeffrey B. Killion

940-397-4679

jeff.killion@mwsu.edu



Nina Kowalczyk

614-293-0290

Nina.kowalczyk@osumc.edu

 

Michael Madden

785-628-5677

mmadden@fhsu.edu

 

Gregory G. Passmore

706-721-4181

gpassmor@gru.edu

 

Debbie Starkey

+617 31382596

d.starkey@qut.edu.au

 

Richard Weening

215-503-0059

richard.weening@jefferson.edu

 

 

APPOINTMENTS AND LIAISONS



AAMD Liaison

 

Mahsa Dehghanpour

713-792-3455

mdehghan@mdanderson.org

 

AAPM Liaison

 

Richard Weening

215-503-0059

richard.weening@jefferson.edu

 

Academy of Radiology Research Liaison

  

Jo Edwards

615-898-2905

mjedward@mtsu.edu

 

AHRA Liaison

 

Frances Gilman

215-503-1865

frances.gilman@jefferson.edu

 

ASRT Liaison

 

Tracy Herrmann

513-745-5689

therrmann@aeirs.org

 



ASTRO Liaison

 

Marissa Johnson

214-648-1531

Marissa.Johnson@utsouthwestern.edu

 

Image Gently Liaison

 

Tracy Herrmann

513-745-5689

therrmann@aeirs.org

 

ISRRT Liaison

 

Rebecca Ludwig

727-341-4150

Ludwig.rebecca@spcollege.edu

 

NMTCB Liaison

 

Gregory G. Passmore

706-721-4181

gpassmor@gru.edu

 

 



RSNA/Associated
Sciences

 

Kathy Kath

313-916-1348

kathykath@wayne.edu

 

SDMS Liaison

 

Diane Youngs

507-255-3322

youngs.diane@mayo.edu

 

SMRT Liaison

 

JoAnn Balderos-Mason

773-834-7041

joann.balderos.mason@gmail.com

 

SNMMI-TS Liaison

 

Angela Macci-Bires

412-397-5410

bires@rmu.edu

 

 

ANNUAL MEETING/SEMINARS




Annual Meeting 2015

 

Kelli Haynes, Chair

318-677-3071

khaynes@aeirs.org

 

Kim Metcalf – Board Advocate

207-625-4265

kmetcalf@aeirs.org




Honors Lecture 2015

 

Joan Becker, Chair

972-860-5049

jabecker@aeirs.org

 

John Eichinger – Board Advocate

352-213-1018

jeichinger@aeirs.org

 




Annual Meeting 2016

 

Joan Becker, Chair

972-860-5049

jabecker@aeirs.org

 

Kelli Haynes – Board Advocate

318-677-3071

khaynes@aeirs.org



AEIRS Staff