Association of Educators in Imaging and Radiologic Sciences, Inc
Already an AEIRS Member? Login now

What's New

AEIRS Board busy at the Midyear meeting

Spring Forward

AEIRS is “springing” forward! Our members, staff and board of directors are busy planning for the 2015 Annual Meeting, preparing for new leadership, preparing to celebrate honors, and working to implement our recent strategic plan. Are you registered to attend the AEIRS Annual Meeting this summer? If not, you still have time to prepare to join us in San Antonio, Texas on July 16 and 17, 2015. We have a line-up of excellent speakers and you do not want to miss experiencing the Riverwalk and visiting the Alamo.

The annual election is a valuable benefit of your AEIRS membership; it is important to vote and have your voice heard. Thanks to all members who ran for office, your willingness to make a difference is greatly appreciated. The 2015-2016 Board of Directors election results are in and you have chosen President-Elect Jennifer Chui, Secretary/Treasurer Tiffani Walker, and Director at-Large Nina Kowalczyk. Congratulations to these new board members who will be installed at the annual meeting! In addition, a number of outstanding individuals will be awarded honors at the annual meeting. Dr. Donna Wright will be awarded Life Member status, our Executive Secretary Valerie Christensen will be awarded Honorary Member status, and Paula Pate-Schloder will be our Honors Lecturer. In addition, Mari King and Paula Pate-Schloder will be elevated to Fellow at the Annual Meeting. Congratulations to all!

This has been a year of great forward progress for AEIRS. As you know, committees have been restructured to better support the strategic plan and significant steps toward implementation are well underway. I am excited to report two new events designed to support our strategic plan that will occur at the annual meeting. The first event is the presentation of posters selected by our Research and Scholarship Committee designed to share innovative practices and research in our professions. The posters will be displayed throughout the conference and presenters will be available for discussion from 4:30 – 6:30 p.m. on Thursday July 16, 2015. The second event is a leadership luncheon to be hosted by the Board of Directors on Friday, July 17, 2015 for all incoming and outgoing committee chairs and liaisons. The purpose of this luncheon is to ensure a smooth transition of leadership, to improve collaboration across committees, and to inform/define our association leaders’ roles in the implementation of the strategic plan. Invitations will be provided by President-Elect John Eichinger. I would like to thank all of our current committee members and liaisons for their service to our association during 2014-2015 and for a job well done! Finally, my deepest appreciation goes to our Board of Directors and the AEIRS staff for their support and dedication to AEIRS. I look forward to seeing you in San Antonio!

The 2016 Annual Meeting will be held at The Benson in Portland, Oregon on July 14 and 15, 2016, so save the date now! Please visit our web-site at for more AEIRS information including a call for presentations for the 2016 meeting.

Tracy Hermann, MEd, RT(R)
AEIRS President